How to Become a Royal Mason

How to Become a Royal Mason

If you’ve ever wondered what the Royal Masons are all about, then read this article. It will explain what they are, what their symbols mean, and what qualifications they need to have. After reading this article, you’ll be well on your way to becoming a Royal Mason. But how do you get there? Here are some tips:


The Articles of Royal Masonry have always been a controversial subject. It was primarily known for its conspiracies against the monarchies of Europe. But the Masons were far more influential during the eighteenth century, when they became members of the Royal Society and became famous for esoteric ideas and philosophies. In the eighteenth century, the Masonic fraternity’s focus began to shift from conspiracies to the exploration of ancient wisdom. Members studied ancient architecture, such as King Solomon’s Temple, and other civilizations. Many Masonic genealogies gave Solomon’s Temple a prominent place in their tradition.


An engraving showing a Freemasons’ Hall in London in 1809

Freemasonry uses several symbols in its rituals. The most commonly known of these is the Square and Compasses. Both symbols have deep meaning for Masons. They represent the principles of morality and the square of virtue with all mankind. They are used on Masonic temple facades, bumper stickers, lapel pins, and more. But what is their significance? And what do they mean to us? Let’s take a closer look.


Qualifications for membership in the Order of St. Andrew’s are essentially the same as those for joining the Masonic Lodge. Candidates must be men of good reputation and a member of a recognized religious faith. They must also be of good standing and obedient to the laws of their country. There are also certain physical and intellectual requirements. Applicants must be 21 years old and believe in the existence of a personal, immortal Creator.


The Craft is considered the culmination of pure ancient masonry. The Craft’s practical rules for life help the members live lives that please God and serve others. In addition, the Craft recognizes man’s spiritual nature. The third degree of the Craft introduces this aspect, and it becomes the central message of the Royal Arch. A person who has passed the Craft’s basic degree can continue to further his education by taking the Commandery Order.

Grand Superintendent

Freemasonry is an ancient craft. Members, called Companions, meet in Chapters under Grand Chapters. There are three Grand Principals in each chapter: First Grand Principal, Second Grand Superintendent, and Pro First. A Pro First Grand Principal is appointed when the First Grand Principal is a Royal Prince. In England and Wales, there are Provinces and Districts. Overseas, there are Grand Chapters in different countries. The Grand Superintendent of Royal Masons presides over each chapter.

Chapters of Cornwall

The District of Cornwall has ten Rose Croix Chapters, or local brethren of the royal masons, and meets three or four times a year. Chapter meetings are friendly and often include a festive board. The most recent chapter meeting was held on November 20, when the most excellent Grand Superintendent, E Comp Wayne Williams, gave a historical presentation about the formation of the Royal Arch Chapter in Cornwall during the late 18th century.

Share this post